The National Logistics Academy

ADR Certificate Training

Professional drivers (including those with a gross vehicle weight of 3.5 tonnes or less) are required by law to hold a Vocational Training Certificate, sometimes referred to informally as an ‘ADR Certificate’, in order to transport dangerous goods.

The National Logistics Academy programme is delivered over 3½ days for core modules, packages and 7 classes and over 5 days with the tanker option.

This course equips drivers with information and tools so that they:

  • Are aware of the hazards in the carriage of dangerous goods
  • Can take steps to reduce the likelihood of an incident taking place
  • Can take all necessary measures for their own safety and that of the public and the environment to limit the effects of any incident that does occur
  • Have individual practical experience of the actions they will need to take

On successful completion drivers will receive their ADR Certificate from SQA which is valid for 5 years. ADR can be renewed by taking a refresher course not less than 6 weeks before ADR expires to re-qualify for a further 5 years.

Drivers who undertake an ADR course can opt to add 21 hours (or 28 hours with tankers) Driver CPC periodic training, subject to JAUPT upload fees.

Core content:

  • Relevant regulations
  • UN Class Hazards
  • Health & Safety
  • Transfer and disposal of waste
  • Material safety data
  • Site rules
  • Fire safety
  • First Aid
  • Emergency procedures and incident test

Classes content:

  • 2. Gasses
  • 3. Flammable liquids
  • 4. Flammable substances
  • 5. Oxidising substances
  • 6. Toxic and infectious substances
  • 8. Corrosive substances
  • 9. Miscellaneous substances